Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram
Joanne Shaw Taylor announces new album and UK tour | FESTIVALPHOTO

Joanne Shaw Taylor announces new album and UK tour

Following her critically acclaimed UK tour in November 2011, due to popular demand, blues rock guitarist and singer, Joanne Shaw Taylor returns to the UK to undertake a 13-date tour, which starts on October 11th 2012. The tour dovetails the highly anticipated release of Joanne’s third studio album Almost Always Never, released by Ruf Records on Monday September 17, 2012.

Planet Rock will start a 24-hour ticket pre-sale from Wednesday May 23rd. Tickets will then go on sale on Friday May 25th from 0844 478 0898, Dates include Bristol Tunnels (Oct 11), Tavistock Wharf (Oct 12), Falmouth Princess Pavilion (Oct 13), Poole Mr Kyps (Oct 14), London Leicester Square Theatre (Oct 16), Brighton The Haunt (Oct 19), Norwich Arts Centre (Oct 20), Sale Waterside (Oct 21), York Duchess (Oct 23), Newcastle Cluny (Oct 24), Glasgow o2 ABC (Oct 26), Stockton Arc (Oct 27) and Nottingham Rescue Rooms (Oct 28).

Originally discovered by Eurythmics’ Dave Stewart as a 16 year old guitar prodigy, Joanne will perform music from her new album, as well as dipping into songs from her first two critically acclaimed albums - White Sugar (2009) and Diamonds in the Dirt (2010).

For two years consecutively, 2010 and 2011, Joanne was voted "Best British Female Vocalist of the Year" at the British Blues Awards. Joanne is fast becoming a major force on the international blues rock music circuit. Hailed by Classic Rock magazine, Joanne also received a Best New Artist Debut nomination at the British Blues Awards for her debut LP White Sugar.

The new album’s produced by legendary record producer Mike McCarthy (Spoon, ... And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Patty Griffin) in Austin. “Mike comes from a different musical background from me," says Joanne. "He pushed me out of my comfort zone, and allowed me to explore new territories whilst remaining true to who I am. I never thought when I started on this journey I would ever get to work with such an amazing array of talent. I've been a fan of JJ, David and Billy for years and their performances on this album are exceptional."

The album features David Garza (keyboards), Billy White (bass, guitar) and J.J. Johnson (drums). Garza has worked with Juliana Hatfield, Blues Traveler and Fiona Apple. Billy White has played with the Heartless Bastards and Craig Finn. J.J. Johnson has played drums for John Mayer.

Skribent: Anthony May
Jag har inte Facebook