Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram
Mary Dillon announces debut album ‘North’ (4th February) and new single John Condon (11th November) | FESTIVALPHOTO

Mary Dillon announces debut album ‘North’ (4th February) and new single John Condon (11th November)


Irish folk singer Mary Dillon will release her first full length solo album, North, in February 2013 after a prolonged hiatus from the music scene. The release will be preceded by a single, ‘John Condon’, released on 11th November 2012.

‘John Condon’ is a haunting account of a fourteen-year-old boy’s role in WW1. Mary sang on the original demo recording of this song in 2003, which subsequently became something of a modern folk classic, and it will feature on her forthcoming album with a stunning new vocal. Formerly the lead singer in well-known 90s folk band Déanta, Mary has had a long absence from the music scene, but returns with a renewed energy after 15 years to release an acoustic album of Irish folk songs old and new.

The track can be streamed here:

Mary shares the pure and haunting vocal tone associated with her younger sister Cara Dillon, one of the biggest names on the UK and international folk scene. North will showcase the unique quality and maturity of Mary’s voice through a diverse collection of folk songs from the Ulster singing tradition.

The album was recorded in Mary’s home town of Dungiven, Co. Derry, and co-produced with her nephew Odhrán Mullan. It will feature contributions from an array of talented traditional musicians, including composer Neil Martin, Eamon McElholm (Solas), and Cara Dillon.

Several times winner of the All-Ireland Singing Trophy, Mary’s voice has achieved cult status over the years, and fans who cherish the modest collection of recordings she has to her name will be happy to finally own her first full-length record this February.

North will be released on Back Lane Records on 4th February 2013
John Condon is available for digital download from 11th November 2012

Full track listing:

1) When A Man’s In Love
2) Ballyronan Maid
3) The Boatman
4) The Banks of Claudy
5) Edward On Lough Erne Shore
6) Bleacher Boy
7) John Condon
8) Knocknashee
9) The Month of January
10) Ard Ti Chuain

Skribent: Anthony May
Jag har inte Facebook