Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram
Mors Principium Est - ...And death said live | FESTIVALPHOTO

Mors Principium Est - ...And death said live



Finnish melodic death metal band formed in 1999 and after releasing three demos in the following three years, released their debut album (Inhumanity) in 2003. "...And death said live" is the band's fourth album, and follows a five year gap since their last album was released. In that time the band lost both it's guitarists and had to recruit replacements, which explains much of the delay. It also meant that many fans were concerned about how this new album would sound as major lineup changes do often tend to affect the sound of a band.

Happily though I think this album is going to allay the fears of fans - it's exactly what they've come to expect from Mors Principium Est

The album kicks off with "The Awakening" - a short intro with orchestral music growing in power and being joined by a choir. It swells in intensity and gathers pace before leading straight into "Departure" which keeps the orchestral music but adds some seriously heavy guitar and drums pounding away at breakneck speeds. The orchstral sounds are all but drowned out by the time the vocals kick in and are only heard occasionally during the rest of the song.

That really sets the tone for the rest of the album - fast brutally heavy melodic death metal dominated by the drums, guitar and vocals, but with keyboards or orchestral sounds being used quite subtly to add a bit of richness to the music.

Some great melodic death metal from Mors Principium Est that's well worth a listen for fans of the genre.

Mors Principium Est are:

Ville Viljanen - Vocals
Mikko Sipola - Drums
Teemu Heinola - Bass
Andy Gillion - Guitars
Andhe Chandler - Guitars

Track listing:

1. The Awakening
2. Departure
3. I Will Return
4. Birth Of The Starchild (feat. Ryan Knight)
5. Bringer Of Light
6. Ascension
7. … and Death said live
8. Destroyer Of All
9. What The Future Holds (feat. Jona Weinhofen)
10. The Meadows Of Asphodel
11. Dead Winds Of Hope

Skribent: Anthony May
Jag har inte Facebook