Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram
The Moody Blues - Timeless Flight box set | FESTIVALPHOTO

The Moody Blues - Timeless Flight box set



The Moody Blues will release a definitive career-spanning box set entitled
‘Timeless Flight’ on June 3rd 2013.
Housed in a heavy-duty LP-sized hard-back slipcase, this lavish box set
contains 17 discs including:
* 11 remastered CDs featuring key album tracks, previously unreleased
mixes, out-takes and complete live concerts
* 3 DVDs of rare television performances from around the world, promotional
videos and the previously unreleased live concert from Olympia, Paris in
* 3 DVD audio discs containing the long-deleted 5:1 surround sound mixes of
Days Of Future Passed, On The Threshold Of A Dream, To Our Children's
Children's Children, A Question Of Balance, Every Good Boy Deserves Favour
and Seventh Sojourn
* 120-page hard-back book including a new essay by
Moody Blues
researcher Mark Powell plus rare and previously unseen photos
* Replica full colour tour poster and discography
* Replica ‘Threshold’ press pack containing photos and memorabilia
* Exclusive ‘Timeless Flight’ fabric patch
There will also be an extremely limited edition version of ‘Timeless Flight’
available exclusively from Universal Music’s Box Sets store.
The Moody Blues
, still rocking in 2013 with original members
Hayward, John Lodge and Graeme Edge,
have released 24 albums in a career
spanning nearly five decades. They have sold over 50 million albums,
earning them eighteen platinum discs and all manner of awards including an
Ivor Novello for Outstanding Contribution to British Music and the Golden
Ticket award for selling the most tickets at Madison Square Garden, and have
even had the honour of appearing in an episode of “The Simpsons”.
Their classic album “Days of Future Passed” heralded the era of the concept
album and elaborate sleeve artwork that would epitomise the Progressive
Rock movement that followed.
Formed in 1964 in Birmingham
the Moody Blues
came from the same
gene pool that would give the world Traffic, the Move, Led Zeppelin, Black
Sabbath and Slade. The original line-up of the band (Denny Laine, Graeme
Edge, Clint Warwick, Ray Thomas and Mike Pinder) scored a global number
one hit with “Go Now”, but struggled to follow up this success and Warwick
and Laine left the group to be replaced by John Lodge and Justin Hayward
respectively in 1966. For the next few months the band crafted a new set of
original compositions that would change their fortunes.
Drastically re-thinking their musical approach, the band began to compose
new material in a uniquely different style. Eager to recoup some of the
money they had invested in the band, Decca asked
the Moody Blues
record a rock version of Dvorak’s New World Symphony to demonstrate a
new stereo system they were launching known as ‘Deramic’ sound. Instead,
the Moodies, along with producer Tony Clarke, used the orchestral settings
for a suite of their own songs, which resulted in ‘Days Of Future Passed’, a
record that was as groundbreaking as any of that era and featured the
band’s signature song, ‘Nights In White Satin’. This proved a turning point
for the band and they soon became acknowledged masters of lushly
orchestrated psychedelic rock and trailblazers in the use of the mellotron,
which they used both live and in the studio to mimic the sounds of a full
orchestra. Era defining albums such as ‘In Search Of The Lost Chord’, ‘On
The Threshold Of A Dream’, ‘To Our Children’s Children’s Children’, ‘A
Question Of Balance’, ‘Every Good Boy Deserves Favour’ and ‘Seventh
Sojourn’ followed and
the Moody Blues
have continued to release albums
through the Eighties and Nineties and into the Noughties and thrilling
audiences with their live shows all over the world.

I suppose that it is our songs, and the way we interpret them that has seen
us travel so far,” says Justin Hayward. “It means so much to us that some of
our recordings have really meant something to people.”
The Moody Blues
will tour the UK in June. The full list of dates is:
5th OXFORD New Theatre
7th CARDIFF St David’s Hall
9th LIVERPOOL Philharmonic Hall
11th NEWCASTLE City Hall
12th MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
14th SHEFFIELD City Hall
15th NOTTINGHAM Royal Concert Hall
17th IPSWICH Regent Theatre
18th PLYMOUTH Pavillions
19th BOURNEMOUTH International Arena
21th BRIGHTON Centre
22nd LONDON 02 Arena
23rd BRISTOL Hippodrome
Tickets are available now from, box offices and usual

Skribent: Anthony May
Jag har inte Facebook