Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram
Barb Jungr - Hard Rain, The songs of Bob Dylan & Leonard Cohen | FESTIVALPHOTO

Barb Jungr - Hard Rain, The songs of Bob Dylan & Leonard Cohen



Singer Barb Jungr is often described as a chansonnier. However you choose to describer her, she sing's Jazz, blues, soul and cabaret style songs and more. In 2002 she released an album of Bob Dylan covers - Every grain of sand, and in 2011 she released a second - "Man in the long black coat". These albums won praise, and Billy Bragg described her as “Our best interpreter of Dylan’s songs”.
Now she's recorded a new covers album that includes more Bob Dylan songs as well as songs by Leonard Cohen

Not being familiar with Bar Jungr I wasn't sure what to expect when I put this album on, but given that Leonard Cohen's music isnt exactly known for being happy and cheerful then I was expecting something fairly dark and depressing. There's still an element of that but Barb's beautiful voice lifts the songs up and she gives them a new lease of life. With songs that are very well known, such as "Blowin' in the wind", it's quite strange sometimes to hear cover versions as they are often very different, but after that initial listen you start to appreciate the merits of the cover. In this case Barb has done a superb job and more than does justice to a classic song.

That really sums up the album - Barb's versions are different to the originals but the more you listen the more you enjoy these excellent cover versions. While it's still unlikely I'll ever buy a Leonard Cohen album, Barb's versions of his songs are very enjoyable to listen to, so she's certainly succeeeded in introducing his songs to a new audience, and that is where cover versions I think are particularly good - they introduce people to music they might not have listened to otherwise.
I do tend to prefer the Bob Dylan songs on this album over the Leonard Cohen ones, but the whole album is extremely listenable and I'm thoroughly enjoying it.

An excellent album that really is well worth listening to, even if you wouldn't describe yourself as a fan of Bob Dylan or Leonard Cohen.

"Hard Rain" will be released on 24th March 2014 on Kristalyn records (Distributed by Absolute via Universal)

Track listing:

1. Blowin’ In The Wind (Bob Dylan)
2. Everybody Knows (Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson)
3. Who By Fire (Leonard Cohen)
4. Hard Rain (Bob Dylan)
5. First We Take Manhattan (Leonard Cohen)
6. Masters Of War (Bob Dylan)
7. It’s Alright Ma (Bob Dylan)
8. 1000 Kisses Deep (Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson)
9. Gotta Serve Somebody (Bob Dylan)
10. Land Of Plenty (Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson)
11. Chimes Of Freedom (Bob Dylan)

Skribent: Anthony May
Jag har inte Facebook