Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram
Allison Moorer - Down to believing | FESTIVALPHOTO

Allison Moorer - Down to believing



Five years after the release of her last album, "Crows", Alt-Country singer Allison Moorer is back with a new album, "Down to believing". The album has been a long time in the making - recording started way back in January 2012, and the songs on the album deal with some of the events that have happened in her life in the last few years - "Like it used to be" for instance deals with her divorce last year from Steve Earle, while "Mama let the wolf in" is about her son being diagnosed as Autistic in 2012.

The first single from the album is "Like it used to be" and gives a good idea of what you can expect from the album musically. It's a great song - check out the video at the bottom of this review.

In general the music is on acoustic guitar but electric guitars are used too - title track "Down to believing" is a good example of that, with the acoustic guitar being the lead and electric guitar adding some beautiful textures to the music. With "If I were stronger" the piano is used too with the song having a slow build-up initially just piano, then piano and vocals then the guitars joining in.
The vocals are all great - Allison Moorer has a lovely voice, and in songs such as "If I were stronger" it carries plenty of emotion.

A great album that's well worth a listen.

"Down to believing" will be released on 16th March 2015 via Proper records.

Track listing:

1. Like it used to be
2. Thunderstorm/Hurricane
3. I lost my crystal ball
4. Down to believing
5. Tear me apart
6. If I were stronger
7. Wish I
8. Blood
9. Mama let the wolf in
10. I'm doing fine
11. Back of my mind
12. Have you ever seen the rain?
13. Gonna get it wrong

Skribent: Anthony May
Jag har inte Facebook